Modes for guitar: The Lydian mode (the 4th mode)

Posted by | Posted in , | Posted on 5:42 AM


The Lydian mode is the 4th  mode of the major scale, It is considered a major mode because it has only one difference with the major scale, which is the raised 4th (Flatted 5th). The interval structure of the Lydian mode is: 1 - 2 - 3 - #4 - 5 - 6 - 7.

The Lydian mode is probably the most close mode to the major scale (Ionian mode), from all the modes for guitar, it is played mostly along with Major 7th chords. The #4 note gives the mode a special flavor over Major 7th chords.

Note: We can play the full major scale (Ionian mode) over Major 7th chords too.

The whole and half step formula for the Lydian mode is: Wh - Wh - Wh - H - Wh - Wh - H. If you want to know what is the major scale of the Lydian mode you're playing, you have to move back 1 half step and 2 whole steps (5 half steps or semitones).

Major scale   G - A - B - C - D - E - F# - G

The fourth mode (Lydian mode), we begin with the 4th note C


Modes for guitar are very important when learning the theory, they will help you in you solos, learning guitar scales is also important because it will give you a lot of choices when you become a songwriter.

See also: All Modes For Guitar

1- The Ionian mode "The major scale" (The first mode).
2- The Dorian mode (The 2nd mode).
3- The Phrygian mode (The 3rd mode).
4- The Lydian mode (The 4th mode).
5- The Mixolydian mode (The 5th mode).
6- The Aeolian mode "The natural minor scale" (The 6th mode).
7- The Locrian mode (The 7th mode).

Comments (0)

Post a Comment